Students honored at academic banquet

Three Lake Region State College students have been named to the 2023 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students.

Students Megan Green, Morgan Thielbar, and Carla Moros were honored during a banquet March 20th at NDSCS. 

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the team receives a medallion and is also eligible for scholarships from numerous universities in North Dakota.  

Megan Green, a Harvey, ND, native, plans to enter the work field as a Wind Technician. She has studied both Wind Technician and Business Administration with a subplan in Management. During her time at Lake Region State College, she has been an active member of her community. She has participated in drama and continues to support the Playmakers. She is an outfielder with the Lady Royals softball team, and president of Phi Theta Kappa and serves as its representative for Student Senate. To add to her busy schedule, she is in her second year serving as a Residential Assistant. Through that job, she is responsible for organizing programs for students such as intramural programs, game activities, or food and fun related events. 

Morgan Thielbar of Langdon, ND, will be graduating in May with an A.A. in Business Administration with concentrations in Marketing and Management.  While at LRSC she was a volleyball player for the Royals. During her second year she has served as Vice-President of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and Vice-President of DECA. Morgan holds a North Dakota Interim Substitute Teaching License and substitute teaches as needed for area schools when she is not in class. She will be transferring to the University of North Dakota in June where she will be a senior completing a BBA in Marketing. Morgan plans to pursue a ND real estate license and appraisal license and work in realty and appraisals. 

Hailing from Barcelona, Spain, Carla Moros is majoring in Business Administration. While at LRSC, Carla has been continually active on campus. She is a member of the basketball team, Student Senate, the International Student Organization, and Phi Theta Kappa. She also serves as president of the LRSC Photography Club. She also works in the marketing office, the library, and the kitchen. In her free time, Carla enjoys practicing sports, spending time with her family and friends, watching TV and singing. Upon graduation in May, she wants to continue studying Management at a college yet to be determined. 

Moros also was honored as the 2024 New Century Transfer Scholar for North Dakota. She will receive a $2,250 scholarship and will be honored at the American Association of Community Colleges conference in Louisville, KY.

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team are also nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

New Century Transfer Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Over 2,200 students from more than 1,300 college campuses nationwide were nominated. Only one New Century Transfer Scholar is selected from each state.

The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).