Exploring Success at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

Exploring Success at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCATF): LRSC Students Shine

Lake Region State College (LRSC) students showcased their theatrical talents at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCATF) in Des Moines, Iowa. 

The four-day event featured the talent of LRSC students Charles Craddock, Trish Fernandez, Alexa Holth, Nate Olson, Anna Reid, Crucible Steinman, and Lenora (Eva) Wolf. Attending theatrical workshops and performances, these students expanded their skills, learning and contributing to the festival.

The outstanding achievements of LRSC were recognized with four commendations, underscoring the college's commitment to excellence in theatre arts. The commendations include:

  1. Ensemble Performance Excellence: A commendation was awarded to the cast of "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" for their outstanding achievement in ensemble performance.

  2. Language Authority (Dialect): The cast of "The Importance of Being Earnest" received a commendation for their mastery of language authority and dialect. 

  3. Ensemble Storytelling: The same cast from "The Importance of Being Earnest" was awarded for their captivating storytelling as a group, showcasing their exceptional skills in ensemble storytelling.

  4. Directorial Excellence: April Hubbard received recognition for her exceptional direction of "The Importance of Being Earnest."

This success reflects the talent of individual students and the exceptional directorial skills demonstrated by April Hubbard. Under her guidance, the collaborative efforts of the LRSC theatre community significantly contribute to this achievement. The awards represent the dedication and skilled LRSC students in different parts of theater production, with April’s outstanding contributions.

The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival has been a tradition in celebrating college-level theatre for over 50 years. LRSC proudly belongs to Region V, encompassing colleges and universities in Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

          "The Importance of Being Earnest" Cast