ESports Team wins national title

LRSC E Sports Team wins national title

Earlier this year, LRSC started up an E-Sports Club Team sponsored by Student Senate.  In December they walked away national champions in the Open Plus category.

LRSC competed in the Open Plus Division of the NACE STARLEAGUE. Congratulations to the Valorant Team, which took first place! 

Prior to the competition, the Valorant Team was ranked 54th as they finished the season 5-2.

In the first round of the playoffs, they were matched up against a team from Mississippi State University who were ranked 35th.  LRSC’s last match of the season was a 2-1 loss to Mississippi State University. They won the playoff match 2 to 1.

Their next opponent was a team from DePaul University who was ranked 10th and undefeated.  This was a rematch from the first week of the season when DePaul won 2-0 in September.

In the finals, LRSC faced a team from Thomas College who finished the season 6-1.  Thomas College was ranked 13th.  LRSC won 2-0.

The NACE STARLEAGUE has over 700 colleges and universities participating with more than 4,000 Teams and 13,000 students. 

The team is made up of LRSC students from Devils Lake, including Trenton McCloud, Christian Price, Jade Hoey, Collin Lee, Ashton Kerlin, and Camron Schwab

The team is coached by Scott Dunbar.

Congrats on the victory, Team Valorant! 

In the photo: Back Row: Collin Lee, Camron Schwab, Trenton McCloud (Left To Right)  Front Row: Christian Price, Jade Hoey, Ashton Kerlin (Left to Right)