LRSC students earn national academic honors

Two Lake Region State College students earned national recognition for their academic achievements.

Tucker Bercier received the highest All-USA Academic Team application score in North Dakota. That recognition makes him a New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar, said Teresa Tande, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society advisor. He will be recognized at the American Association for Community Colleges annual conference.

Jarrel McGarvey was selected as a Bronze Scholar on Coca-Cola’s 2022 Academic Team and will receive a $1,000 scholarship. His selection was based on the score earned in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which more than 2,000 applications were received this year. As a Bronze Scholar, McGarvey will be presented with a Bronze medallion and a check for $1,000 by Fall 2022.

“This is a great honor for Tucker, Jarrel, and LRSC,” Tande said.

Earlier this semester, Bercier and McGarvey were two of 14 North Dakota community college students named to the 2022 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students.

“Only the most highly driven and accomplished students are named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team,” said North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott. “The fourteen students from throughout our system named to this year’s team are outstanding examples of academic achievement and volunteer spirit.”

To be eligible for the New Century program, students must apply for the All-USA Academic Team and be selected as a nominee by their college. The New Century Pathway Scholarship program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the American Association of Community Colleges, and Phi Theta Kappa. The program annually recognizes 104 Scholars. Bercier graduated in December and is now studying for his bachelor’s degree in education.

The Coca-Cola Academic Team recognizes high achieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society. Fifty students will be named Gold Scholars, fifty students will be named Silver Scholars, and fifty students will be named Bronze Scholars. A state may have multiple Gold, Silver, or Bronze Scholars.

To be eligible for this program, students must apply for the All-USA Academic Team and be selected as a nominee by their college. The Coca-Cola Academic Team is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

McGarvey is completing his studies at LRSC and will graduate this May.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the team receives a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion, and a monetary award.