LRSC students named to All Academic Team

Each year a select number of North Dakota community college students are named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team. This team recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. 

Two of the students hail from Lake Region State College. They are Michaela Osborne of Devils Lake and Jakenda Short of McHenry, ND.

These students showcase leadership inside and outside of the classroom and are role models for fellow students,” said Dr. Doug Darling, LRSC President. 

In her two years at LRSC, Jakenda has been an active member of the Royals Volleyball team and has served as co-president of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. She was instrumental in Project Blankets, an on-campus event making blankets for children removed from their homes suddenly. She was a true and faithful member all three semesters, being involved in every activity PTK sponsored.  She was also part of the group to do Study Abroad and was active in promoting it to the students. 

Michaela Osborne has been a go-getter since the day she first walked on campus during orientation. She was a Royal Ambassador and quickly became one of our go-to tour guides. She was also a member of CRU and Student Senate.  Her sophomore year she was elected the president of the Royal Ambassadors and has done great in her leadership role. She spearheaded the Operation Shoebox project on campus, gathering supplies of needy children and she helped coordinate the delivery of blankets during the Blanket Project. She was very active in CRU and went on a mission trip her freshman year. She was a true leader on and off campus. 

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. 

The academic team recognition program is active in almost 40 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.
Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team receives a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. 

Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.