Secure Login

Employee Portal

Employees login with your Computer User ID and portal password. 
Forgot Password?

LRSC's Wakeford elected to SBHE staff advisor role

By   Erin Wood

Andy Wakeford, Online Coordinator/Online Advisor at Lake Region State College, has been elected as the 2016-2017 State Board of Higher Education Staff Advisor. 

He was elected January 25 during the North Dakota State Staff Senate meeting. Wakeford is immediate past president of the Lake Region State College Staff Senate and served as its president from 2013 to 2015. 

“I am excited for Andy to serve in this role. He has served his campus well as a staff advocate and leader, while engaging in the important conversations at State Staff Senate,” said Emma Tufte of VCSU, current SBHE Staff Advisor.  

Wakeford has worked at LRSC since 2002, serving as online coordinator and advisor since 2008. He also has worked in Student Services, serving as enrollment manager and transfer coordinator for the college’s TRiO Student Support Services program. He earned his associate of arts degree from LRSC and bachelor’s degree in communications from UND. Wakeford assumes his staff advisor role July 1.

“I take great pride in the work I and others do on behalf of students, faculty and the campus of LRSC.  I think I can take that same passion to the SBHE.  I want to be a voice of staff, but also the students and faculty we serve and find opportunities to create a more united system to best serve the students and the state of North Dakota,” Wakeford said.

The State Board of Higher Education is the policy-setting and advocacy body for the North Dakota University System and the governing body for North Dakota's 11 publicly supported colleges and universities. The SBHE also oversees the NDSU Extension Service and Agricultural Research Stations, Northern Crops Institute, State Forest Service and the Upper Great Plans Transportation Institute.

The SBHE is made up of seven citizen members appointed to four-year terms by the governor and one student appointed by the governor to serve a one-year term. The Council of College Faculties selects the board's non-voting faculty advisor, and the NDUS Staff Senate selects the board's non-voting staff advisor.