Secure Login

Employee Portal

Employees login with your Computer User ID and portal password. 
Forgot Password?

Business students earn state honors, advance to nationals

By   Erin Wood

Members of the Lake Region State College Phi Beta Lambda chapter attended the North Dakota PBL State Leadership conference in Grand Forks April 11-12. 

During the two days, students had the opportunity to test their business skills against other students from around the state, hear motivating speakers, and attend the general sessions, workshops, and tours. The culmination of the conference was the Awards of Excellence Program where winners were recognized for their accomplishments.

Members of the Lake Region State College (LRSC) Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) chapter attended the ND PBL State Leadership conference in Grand Forks, April 11-12. Attending from LRSC were Laurie Bachmeier, Charlene Gray, Laura Halle, Robyn Iverson, Jordan McGath, Hannah McInnes, Susan Otto, Allyssa Reeves and Beth Yoder as well as advisor Diane Karlsbraaten. Students from UND, Jamestown, Minot State, Bismarck State, Williston, and Concordia were also in attendance.

The LRSC Phi Beta Lambda members took home the following awards:

Business Ethics: Robyn Iverson & Hannah McInnes, 1st; Business Communication: Susan Otto, 1st; Client Service: Beth Yoder, 1st; Client Service: Laura Halle, 3rd; Computer Applications: Jordan McGath,1st; Computer Concepts: Hannah McInnes, 3rd; Desktop Publishing: Laurie Bachmeier & Charlene Gray, 1st; Desktop Publishing: Jordan McGath, 2nd;   Hospitality Management: Laura Halle, 3rd; Job Interview: Hannah McInnes, 2nd; Personal Finance: Laura Halle, 3rd; Sales Presentation: Susan Otto, 1st; Sales Presentation: Charlene Gray, 2nd; Word Processing: Jordan McGath, 1st; Word Processing: Allyssa Reeves 2nd.

The above students are eligible to compete again in their event at the National PBL Conference held June 24-27 in Nashville, Tenn.

Robyn Iverson was elected president of the North Dakota Phi Beta Lambda for 2014-2015. Beth Yoder was elected Vice President of Public Relations. This year’s theme of “Excellence in Action,” reflects the goals of PBL members, some of the best and brightest of today’s students. Its mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovated leadership and career development programs.

The LRSC Phi Beta Lambda took home the following chapter awards: Largest Percentage of Increase in Local Chapter Membership, Membership Achievement Award for PBL Membership Support and Growth, and Dime Wars Battle of the Chapters (2nd Place). 

The Career and Membership Achievement Program (CMAP) is a comprehensive membership recognition program encompassing PBL projects, goals, and programs with special emphasis on career development and preparation for the world of work. The awards focus on the words surrounding the PBL Crest: Service, Education, and Progress. 

Receiving the Directors award were Laurie Bachmeier, Charlene Gray, Laura Halle, Lisa Hartl, Robyn Iverson, Jordan McGath, Susan Otto, Allyssa Reeves, Beth Yoder, Joni Wipf, and Deanna Zander. Hannah McInnes received the Executive Award for CMAP.

Lake Region State College is a comprehensive community college that enhances lives and community vitality through quality education.